Frequently asked questions

Review these frequently asked questions to find out more about the EpiPen® Auto-Injector.

Frequently asked questions

When should I inject EpiPen®?

EpiPen® should be injected at the first sign or symptom of a severe allergic response. Severe allergic reactions are not always predictable. Obvious warning signs are not always present before serious reactions occur.

EpiPen® is recommended at the start of any reaction to a known or suspected allergen contact. For people with a history of a severe cardiovascular collapse on exposure to an allergen, the physician may advise that epinephrine be administered immediately after exposure to that allergen, before any reaction has begun.

EpiPen®, when used as directed immediately following exposure to a known allergen, may prove life-saving.

How do I administer EpiPen®?

EpiPen® is administered in a simple 2-step process:

Person pulling blue cap off of EpiPen device, “Blue to the sky”

Remove blue safety cap by pulling straight up. Do not bend or twist.

Person injecting orange side of EpiPen device into thigh, “Orange to the thigh”

Swing and push orange tip firmly into mid-outer thigh until you hear a ‘click’. Hold on thigh for several seconds.

What should I do after using EpiPen®?

Call 911 after using EpiPen®.

Using EpiPen® does not replace seeing a doctor or going to the hospital.

Seek medical attention immediately.

The effects of epinephrine can wear off or you could have a second reaction, so call 911, or go to the emergency room right after using EpiPen.

When the dose is delivered and EpiPen® is released from the injection site, the orange needle cover will automatically extend and immediately locks in place.

Give any used EpiPen® Auto-Injectors to emergency responders or emergency room personnel to discard.

These instructions are found on the barrel of EpiPen® as well as in the prescribing information.

Why should I swing my arm to inject?

It is recommended that you swing your arm to inject EpiPen®. You do not need to apply excessive force to the swing, just enough to gain sufficient momentum to ensure the auto-injector deploys. Swinging your arm helps provide enough load on the tip of the EpiPen® to deliver an intramuscular (IM) injection. Administering EpiPen® in this manner also helps facilitate the ideal angle for the IM injection into the anterolateral aspect of the thigh, which is perpendicular or at 90 degrees to the injection site.

How many seconds should I hold EpiPen® in place when I inject?

The instructions on the EpiPen® cartridge state you should swing the arm and push the orange tip firmly into the mid-outer thigh so it ‘clicks’ and hold it on the thigh for several seconds. Holding EpiPen® in place at the injection site for several seconds helps to properly deliver the dose of epinephrine.

How do I know if EpiPen® has been activated?

The extended orange needle cover and obscured window indicates that EpiPen® has delivered the drug.

How do I know if I have received my injection?
EpiPen indicator window on device after administration

There is a viewing window on the barrel of EpiPen® which prior to delivery is clear and after delivery is obscured or shaded. Also, once the dose is administered and EpiPen® is released from the injection site, the orange needle cover extends and immediately locks in place encasing the needle to prevent accidental needle sticks. These visual indicators show that the dose of epinephrine has been delivered. Once the orange needle cover is extended, EpiPen® will not fit back into the carrier tube.

Can I inject EpiPen® through my clothes?

Yes. If necessary, you can inject EpiPen® through clothing.

What do I do in the event of an accidental injection into hands or feet, etc?

Accidental injection into the hands or feet may result in loss of blood flow to the affected areas and should be avoided. If there is an accidental injection into these areas, go immediately to the nearest emergency room for treatment.

How should I dispose of a used EpiPen®?

After using EpiPen®, seek medical attention. The used EpiPen® should be taken to the nearest Emergency Room for proper disposal and to show the medical personnel what medication has already been administered.

For an expired EpiPen®, contact your local pharmacy to assist in disposal of the product according to regulations.

What should I do if I accidentally remove the safety release from EpiPen®?

If the unit has not been activated, then the safety release can be carefully replaced. Because removing the safety release prepares the unit for activation, you should gently place the unit in its needle-safe storage tube. Make sure the safety release end faces towards the opening and secure the blue safety release in place. Be very careful to keep your fingers clear of each end.

Does EpiPen® come with needle protection?

EpiPen® has a built-in needle protection device (orange needle cover). This device automatically extends when the dose is administered and the EpiPen® Auto-Injector is removed from the injection site.

The extended needle protection sheath will prevent the EpiPen® Auto-Injector from fitting back into the carrier tube.

Do you have to be certified to administer EpiPen® to someone else who is in need of the medication but unable to administer it themselves?

Emergency administration of EpiPen® in the case of a suspected severe allergic reaction does not require certification. The patient’s physician or pharmacist should review the package insert in detail with the patient or caregiver to ensure that he/she understands the indications and use of EpiPen®.

Actual demonstration of the injection technique by a physician or pharmacist is recommended. A training device for patient instruction purposes is also available and can be ordered here

It is important that people at risk of a severe allergic reaction educate others on how to use EpiPen®.

EpiPen® and EpiPen® Jr are designed as emergency supportive therapy only and not as a replacement or substitute for subsequent medical or hospital care. After administration, patients should seek medical attention immediately or go to the emergency room. For the next 48 hours, patients must stay within close proximity to a healthcare facility or where they can call 911.

What are the dosing guidelines for EpiPen®?

Dosage in any specific patient should be based on body weight.

  • EpiPen®: EpiPen® delivers a dose of 0.3 mg in 0.3 mL of 1:1000 dilution of epinephrine injection, USP. EpiPen® is intended for adults and children who weigh 30 kg or more.
  • EpiPen® Jr: EpiPen® Jr delivers a dose of 0.15 mg in 0.3 mL of 1:2000 dilution of epinephrine injection, USP. EpiPen® Jr is intended for children who weigh between 15 kg and 30 kg (33 to 66 lbs).
  • Dosing in children <15 kg: Since the dose of epinephrine delivered from EpiPen® Jr is fixed at 0.15 mg, the physician can consider other forms of injectable epinephrine if doses lower than 0.15 mg are felt to be necessary (e.g., for children weighing less than 15 kg).

Dosage adjustments are at the discretion of a healthcare provider.

How many doses of EpiPen® can be administered?

In most cases, epinephrine is effective after 1 injection. However, symptoms may recur and further injections may be required.

A severe allergic reaction is a serious, acute, allergic reaction that may cause death. It has a sudden onset and generally lasts less than 24 hours. Because a severe allergic reaction is a generalized reaction, a wide variety of clinical signs and symptoms may be observed.

Physicians may determine that a single dose of epinephrine may not be enough to reverse the symptoms of a severe allergic reaction. As such, your healthcare provider may prescribe more than one EpiPen® to have on hand. Epinephrine can be re-injected every 5 to 15 minutes until there is resolution of the severe allergic reaction or signs of adrenaline excess (such as palpitations, tremor, uncomfortable apprehension, and anxiety).

After receiving epinephrine, you must be transported to hospital, for evaluation and a period of observation of no less than 4 hours. This is because of the possibility of either a “biphasic” reaction (a second reaction) or a prolonged reaction. The attending physician will consider such factors as the severity of the reaction, your history and response, and the distance from the hospital to your home.

Severe allergic reactions typically follow a uniphasic course; however, 20% will be biphasic in nature. The second phase usually occurs after an asymptomatic period of 1 to 8 hours, but may occur up to 38 hours (mean 10 hours) after the initial reaction. About 1/3 of the second-phase reactions are more severe, 1/3 are as severe, and 1/3 are less severe. The second-phase reactions can occur even following administration of corticosteroids. After administration, you should seek medical attention immediately or go to the emergency room. For the next 48 hours, you must stay within close proximity to a healthcare facility or where you can call 911.

Protracted anaphylaxis, which is frequently associated with profound hypotension and sometimes lasts longer than 24 hours, is minimally responsive to aggressive therapy, and has a poor prognosis.

What length of expiry should I expect when purchasing EpiPen®?

Each new EpiPen® should have a minimum of 12 months before expiry. If you have recently bought an EpiPen® or EpiPen® Jr Auto-Injector that has a shorter expiry date, please talk to your pharmacist.

How do I read the expiry date on EpiPen®?
EpiPen and EpiPen Jr devices showing expiry date location

The expiration date is expressed as the month and the last 2 digits of the year. For example, an expiration designation of “Exp: JA 15” indicates that the EpiPen® expires the last day (31st) of January 2015, thus the expiration date in this example would be January 31, 2015.

Further, expiration dates on EpiPen® (Canada) are different than product from the U.S. The Canadian product is designed to be "bilingual friendly", e.g. JA = Jan, JN = June, JL = July, MA = May, MR = March.

If the EpiPen® is expired, can it still be used?
How do I store EpiPen® and under what conditions should I consider the auto-injector compromised?

It’s important to properly store EpiPen® to help ensure it’s ready to use in the event of a severe allergic reaction.

  • Always store EpiPen® in the carrier tube with the safety release on until you need to use it.
  • Keep EpiPen® at room temperature. Do not refrigerate.
  • EpiPen® can be exposed to temperatures between 15° to 30°C.
  • Do not keep EpiPen® in a vehicle during extremely hot or cold weather.
  • Protect your EpiPen® from light.
  • Submerging EpiPen® in water can compromise the delivery mechanism.

Occasionally look through the viewing window on your EpiPen® to make sure the solution in the auto-injector is not brown, discoloured, cloudy. Replace your EpiPen® if the solution is discoloured or cloudy.

If EpiPen® has not been stored according to the above storage recommendations, using the auto-injector cannot be recommended.

EpiPen® is a medical device that contains glass and should be handled with care.

What do I do if the liquid in the EpiPen® Auto-Injector is discoloured?

Discoloured EpiPen® Auto-Injectors should not be used. Discoloration is extremely rare and usually signifies that the drug has come in contact with oxygen, extreme temperatures, light, or some foreign element such as a piece of metal. When EpiPen® discolours, it will turn to a dark coffee color.

If this ever happens, contact your local pharmacy to assist with its proper disposal.

Can you use EpiPen® if you have a sensitivity to sulphites?

This product contains sodium metabisulphite, a substance that may cause allergic-type reactions including anaphylactic symptoms or mild to severe asthmatic episodes in certain susceptible persons.

Epinephrine is the drug of choice for serious allergic reactions and the presence of a sulphite in this product should not prevent administration of the drug for treatment of serious allergic or other emergency situations, even if the patient is sulphite-sensitive.

Does EpiPen® contain latex?

No. EpiPen® is latex-free.

Can you purchase EpiPen® without a prescription?

In Canada, EpiPen® can be purchased with or without a prescription.

Does EpiPen® fit in most commercial carrying cases?

It is recommended to always carry EpiPen® in the plastic carrier tube provided when it is dispensed at the pharmacy. This carrier tube is designed specifically for EpiPen® and protects the device from UVB, accidental discharge and damage. However, EpiPen® will fit in most commercially available carrying cases. Please check with manufacturers for updates.

Can I travel with EpiPen®?

If travelling by air, always inform security that you are carrying an EpiPen® or EpiPen® Jr Auto-Injector and keep it in your hand luggage. The baggage compartment of the aircraft is not temperature controlled, so temperatures may not be ideal (25ºC/77ºF) or within the permitted range of 15º–30ºC (59º–86ºF).

Be sure to carry your EpiPen® or EpiPen® Jr Auto-Injector in its original carrier tube. You may also require a pharmacy label that includes the name of the person the pen was prescribed for and the name of the prescribing physician.

When travelling cross-border, please consult Canada Border Services at 1-800-461-9999 for the latest information, or visit their website.

Who can I call if I have concerns or product complaints?

Foire aux questions

Consultez les réponses aux questions fréquentes pour en savoir plus sur l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD.

Foire aux questions

Quand dois-je injecter EpiPenMD?

Il faut utiliser l’auto-­injecteur EpiPenMD dès l’apparition des premiers signes ou symptômes de réaction allergique grave. Les réactions allergiques graves sont imprévisibles. Les réactions graves ne sont pas toujours précédées de signes annonciateurs clairs.

On recommande d’administrer EpiPenMD dès l’apparition de toute réaction associée à une exposition connue ou soupçonnée à un allergène. Chez les personnes ayant des antécédents de collapsus cardiovasculaire grave causé par un allergène, le médecin peut recommander l’administration d’épinéphrine immédiatement après une exposition à l’allergène, avant même l’apparition d’une réaction.

Lorsqu’il est utilisé conformément aux instructions immédiatement après l’exposition à un allergène connu, EpiPenMD peut sauver la vie.

Comment administrer EpiPenMD?

EpiPenMD est administré en 2 étapes simples :

Personne retirant le bouchon de sécurité bleu de l’auto-injecteur EpiPen, « Bleu vers le plafond »

Enlevez le bouchon de sécurité bleu en le tirant tout droit. Ne le pliez pas et ne le tordez pas.

Personne poussant l’extrémité orange d’EpiPen dans sa cuisse, « Orange pour l’injection »

Avec un mouvement de balancement, poussez fermement le bout orange dans le milieu du côté extérieur de la cuisse jusqu’à ce que vous entendiez un « clic ». Maintenez le dispositif contre la cuisse plusieurs secondes.

Que dois-je faire après avoir utilisé l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD?

Après l’administration d’EpiPenMD, vous devez composer le 911.

L’utilisation de l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD ne remplace pas la consultation d’un médecin ou une visite à l’hôpital.

Consultez un médecin immédiatement.

Il est important de composer le 911 ou de vous rendre dans une salle d’urgence immédiatement après avoir utilisé l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD parce que les effets de l’épinéphrine peuvent s’estomper et qu’une deuxième réaction est possible.

Une fois la dose administrée et l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD retiré du site d’injection, le couvre-aiguille orange s’étendra automatiquement et se verrouillera immédiatement en place.

Remettez tout auto-injecteur EpiPenMD usagé aux intervenants d’urgence ou au personnel de la salle d’urgence pour qu’ils le mettent au rebut.

Ces instructions se retrouvent sur le corps de l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD ainsi que dans les renseignements posologiques.

Pourquoi dois-je balancer mon bras pour faire l’injection?

On recommande de balancer son bras pour injecter EpiPenMD. Vous n’avez pas à balancer le bras avec une force excessive; il suffit de prendre un élan suffisant pour activer l’auto-injecteur. Le fait de balancer le bras aide aussi à fournir un poids suffisant à l’extrémité de l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD pour administrer l’injection intramusculaire (IM). En outre, cela permet d’effectuer l’injection IM dans la région antérolatérale de la cuisse en tenant l’auto-injecteur à un angle idéal, c’est-à-dire en formant un angle droit (90 degrés) par rapport au point d’injection.

Pendant combien de secondes dois-je maintenir en place l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD au moment de l’injection?

On précise dans les instructions figurant sur la cartouche EpiPenMD que vous devez balancer votre bras et appuyer fermement le bout orange dans le milieu du côté externe de la cuisse jusqu’à ce que vous entendiez un « clic », puis garder l’auto-injecteur en place contre la cuisse pendant plusieurs secondes. En maintenant l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD en place au point d’injection pendant plusieurs secondes, vous injecterez la dose adéquate d’épinéphrine de façon satisfaisante.

Comment puis-je savoir si l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD a été activé?

Le couvre-aiguille orange déployé et la fenêtre de visualisation obscurcie indiquent que la dose d’épinéphrine a été administrée.

Comment savoir si j’ai reçu mon injection?
Fenêtre de visualisation du dispositif après l’administration

Le tube de l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD comporte une fenêtre de visualisation; celle-ci est transparente avant l’administration puis s’obscurcit après l’injection. De plus, une fois que la dose a été administrée et qu’EpiPenMD a été enlevé du point d’injection, le couvre-aiguille orange se déploie automatiquement et se verrouille immédiatement afin de prévenir des piqûres d’aiguille accidentelles. Ces deux caractéristiques indiquent visuellement que la dose d’épinéphrine a été administrée. Lorsque le couvre-aiguille orange est déployé, l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD ne rentre plus dans le tube de rangement.

Peut-on injecter EpiPenMD à travers les vêtements?

Oui. Au besoin, on peut injecter EpiPenMD à travers les vêtements.

Que dois-je faire en cas d’injection accidentelle, par exemple dans la main ou un pied?

L’injection accidentelle dans la main ou le pied peut entraîner une diminution du débit sanguin dans les zones touchées; par conséquent, elle doit être évitée. Dans l’éventualité d’une injection accidentelle dans ces zones, rendez-vous immédiatement à la salle d’urgence la plus proche pour y être traité.

Comment dois-je me débarrasser d’un auto-injecteur EpiPenMD usagé?

Après avoir utilisé l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD, obtenez des soins médicaux immédiatement. Apportez l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD usagé au service d’urgence le plus proche afin qu’il soit mis au rebut de façon appropriée et que le personnel médical sache quel médicament vous a été administré.

Pour ce qui est des auto-injecteurs EpiPenMD dont la date de péremption est échue, veuillez communiquer avec votre pharmacie; elle vous aidera à vous en débarrasser selon les règlements.

Que dois-je faire si je retire accidentellement le bouchon de sécurité de l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD?

Si l’auto-injecteur n’a pas été activé, le bouchon de sécurité peut alors être soigneusement remis en place. Comme le fait d’enlever le bouchon de sécurité est une des étapes de l’activation, il faut délicatement placer l’auto-injecteur dans son tube de rangement protecteur. Veillez à ce que le bon côté du bouchon de sécurité soit vis-à-vis de l’ouverture du tube, puis replacez le bouchon bleu. Veillez à ce que vos doigts ne touchent pas les extrémités de l’auto-injecteur.

L’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD est-il doté d’un couvre-aiguille?

EpiPenMD est doté d’un dispositif de protection de l’aiguille (couvre-aiguille orange) intégré. Ce dispositif se déploie automatiquement une fois que la dose a été administrée et que l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD a été retiré du point d’injection.

Lorsque le couvre-aiguille est déployé, l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD ne rentre plus dans le tube de rangement.

Quelles sont les directives en matière de posologie pour EpiPenMD?

La posologie pour tout patient particulier doit s’appuyer sur le poids corporel.

  • EpiPenMD : L’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD administre une dose de 0,3 mg dans 0,3 mL d’épinéphrine injectable USP diluée à raison de 1:1000. L’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD ne doit être utilisé que par les adultes et les enfants qui pèsent au moins 30 kg.
  • EpiPenMD Jr : L’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD Jr administre une dose de 0,15 mg dans 0,3 mL d’épinéphrine injectable USP diluée à raison de 1:2000. L’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD Jr ne doit être utililisé que par les enfants qui pèsent entre 15 et 30 kg (soit entre 33 et 66 lb).
  • Posologie chez les enfants de moins de 15 kg : Puisque la dose d’épinéphrine administrée par l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD Jr est fixée à 0,15 mg, le médecin doit prendre en considération d’autres formes d’épinéphrine injectable s’il estime que des doses inférieures à 0,15 mg sont nécessaires (p. ex., pour les enfants pesant moins de 15 kg).

Les ajustements de la posologie sont laissés à la discrétion du professionnel des soins de santé.

Combien de doses d’EpiPenMD peut-on administrer?

Dans la majorité des cas, l’épinéphrine est efficace après une seule injection. Cependant, les symptômes peuvent réapparaître et des injections additionnelles peuvent s’avérer nécessaires.

L’anaphylaxie est une réaction allergique grave et aiguë pouvant causer la mort. Son apparition est soudaine et elle dure généralement moins de 24 heures. L’anaphylaxie étant une réaction généralisée, une grande variété de signes et de symptômes cliniques peuvent être observés.

Le médecin peut déterminer qu’une dose unique d’épinéphrine pourrait ne pas suffire pour faire régresser les symptômes de la réaction allergique grave. Il peut alors prescrire plus d’un auto-injecteur EpiPenMD à garder à portée de la main. L’épinéphrine peut être réinjectée toutes les 5 à 15 minutes jusqu’à la disparition de la réaction allergique grave ou l’apparition de signes d’hypersécrétion surrénalienne (y compris des palpitations, des tremblements, une appréhension désagréable et de l’anxiété).

Après avoir reçu de l’épinéphrine, vous devez être amené à l’hôpital pour subir une évaluation et rester en observation pendant au moins 4 heures, en raison du risque de réaction « biphasique » (seconde réaction) ou prolongée. Le médecin traitant tiendra compte de divers facteurs, notamment la gravité de la réaction, vos antécédents et votre réponse au traitement, ainsi que la distance entre l’hôpital et votre domicile.

Les réactions allergiques graves sont généralement de forme uniphasique; toutefois, 20 % d’entre elles seront de nature biphasique. La deuxième phase survient généralement après une période asymptomatique pouvant durer entre une et huit heures, mais elle peut se produire jusqu’à 38 heures (dix heures en moyenne) après la réaction initiale. Environ le tiers des réactions en deuxième phase sont plus graves, le tiers sont aussi graves, et le tiers restant sont moins graves. Les réactions de deuxième phase peuvent se produire même après l’administration de corticostéroïdes. Après l’administration d’EpiPenMD, vous devez obtenir des soins médicaux sans attendre ou vous rendre au service d’urgence le plus proche. Durant les 48 heures suivantes, vous devez demeurer à proximité d’un établissement de santé ou à un endroit d’où vous pourrez au besoin composer le 911.

L’anaphylaxie prolongée, souvent associée à l’hypotension artérielle profonde et dont la durée peut parfois dépasser 24 heures, réagit peu à un traitement énergique et son pronostic est mauvais.

Quel devrait être le délai avant la date de péremption quand j’achète un auto-injecteur EpiPenMD?

Le délai de péremption de tout nouvel auto-injecteur EpiPenMD devrait être d’au moins 12 mois. Si vous avez récemment fait l’achat d’un auto-injecteur EpiPenMD ou EpiPenMD Jr dont le délai de péremption était inférieur à 12 mois, veuillez consulter votre pharmacien.

Comment lire la date de péremption sur l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD?
Emplacement de la date de péremption sur les dispositifs EpiPen et EpiPen Jr

La date de péremption est formée de l’abréviation du nom du mois et des deux derniers chiffres de l’année. Par exemple, « Exp : JA 15 » indique que la date de péremption est le dernier jour (31) de janvier 2015, donc le 31 janvier 2015.

Au Canada, les dates de péremption des auto-injecteurs EpiPenMD sont différentes de celles figurant sur les produits provenant des États-Unis. Sur le produit canadien, les dates sont adaptées aux deux langues officielles; p. ex., JA = janvier, JN = juin, JL = juillet, MA = mai, MR = mars.

Peut-on utiliser un auto-injecteur EpiPenMD qui est périmé?
Comment dois-je entreposer l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD et dans quelles circonstances dois-je considérer que mon auto-injecteur est endommagé?

Il est important de conserver adéquatement l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD afin qu’il soit prêt à être utilisé en cas de réaction allergique grave.

  • Conservez toujours l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD dans son tube de rangement et gardez le bouchon de sécurité en place jusqu’à ce que vous ayez à vous en servir.
  • Gardez l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD à la température ambiante. Ne le réfrigérez pas.
  • L’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD peut être exposé à des températures allant de 15 à 30 °C.
  • Ne laissez pas l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD dans la voiture lors de températures extrêmement chaudes ou froides.
  • Gardez l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD à l’abri de la lumière.
  • Le fait d’immerger l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD dans l’eau peut endommager le mécanisme d’injection.

Vérifiez à l’occasion par la fenêtre de l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD que la solution ne s’est pas colorée (notamment qu’elle n’a pas bruni) et qu’elle n’est pas trouble. Remplacez l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD si la solution est colorée ou trouble.

Si l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD n’a pas été entreposé conformément aux directives ci-dessus, son utilisation ne peut être recommandée.

L’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD est un dispositif médical fait de verre et il doit donc être manipulé avec soin.

Que dois-je faire si le liquide se trouvant à l’intérieur de mon auto-injecteur EpiPenMD est coloré?

L’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD ne doit pas être utilisé si le liquide qui se trouve à l’intérieur est coloré. La coloration est extrêmement rare et signifie généralement que le médicament est entré en contact avec de l’oxygène ou un élément étranger comme un morceau de métal ou qu’il a été exposé à des températures extrêmes ou à la lumière. Lorsque la solution d’un auto-injecteur EpiPenMD se colore, elle devient brun foncé, comme du café.

Dans ce cas, vous devez communiquer avec votre pharmacie pour qu’elle vous aide à vous débarrasser de l’auto-injecteur comme il se doit.

Peut-on utiliser EpiPenMD en cas de sensibilité aux sulfites?

Le produit contient du métabisulfite de sodium, une substance qui peut causer des réactions pseudo-allergiques, y compris des symptômes anaphylactiques ou des crises d’asthme de légères à graves chez certaines personnes sensibles.

L’épinéphrine est le médicament de prédilection pour le traitement des réactions allergiques graves, et la présence d’un sulfite dans ce médicament ne doit pas empêcher l’administration du médicament en traitement de réactions allergiques graves ou dans d’autres situations urgentes, même si le patient est sensible aux sulfites.

Les auto-injecteurs EpiPenMD renferment-ils du latex?

Non. Les auto-injecteurs EpiPenMD ne renferment pas de latex.

Peut-on acheter un auto-injecteur EpiPenMD sans ordonnance?

Au Canada, on peut se procurer l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD avec ou sans ordonnance.

L’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD peut-il entrer dans la plupart des étuis de transport en vente sur le marché?

On recommande de toujours transporter l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD dans le tube de rangement en plastique qui est fourni à cet effet à la pharmacie. Ce tube de rangement est conçu spécifiquement pour l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD et le protège des rayons UVB, des écoulements accidentels et des dommages. Cela dit, l’auto-injecteur EpiPenMD entre dans la plupart des étuis offerts sur le marché. Veuillez vous informer auprès des fabricants pour obtenir des renseignements à jour.

Est-ce que je peux voyager avec mon auto-injecteur EpiPenMD?

Si vous voyagez par avion, vous devez toujours avertir le personnel de la sécurité que vous transportez un auto-injecteur EpiPenMD ou EpiPenMD Jr et le garder dans vos bagages à main. La température dans la soute à bagages n’étant pas contrôlée, elle peut ne pas être idéale (25 °C ou 77 °F) ou même se situer en dehors de la plage permise de 15 à 30 °C (59 à 86 °F).

Veillez à transporter votre auto-injecteur EpiPenMD ou EpiPenMD Jr dans son emballage original. Vous pourriez aussi avoir besoin d’une étiquette de la pharmacie portant le nom de la personne à qui l’auto-injecteur a été prescrit et le nom du médecin prescripteur.

Si vous voyagez à l’étranger, veuillez consulter l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada au 1-800-461-9999 pour obtenir les renseignements les plus à jour, ou visitez son site Web.

Avec qui dois-je communiquer si j’ai des préoccupations ou des plaintes au sujet du produit?